In today’s Featured Artist post I am featuring one of my absolute favorite Trance DJs, Orange County-native Shogun. Unlike many of the other Trance artists that I listen to on a regular basis, I have only been listening to Shogun for just over a year. I can’t remember exactly when I discovered him, but I think it was some time last winter when my friend Andrew showed me an insane lineup for a rave in LA that he was included on.

I don’t know Shogun that well, nor have I really explored his library very deeply, but I love everything that I have heard from the guy that I voted No. 4 in this year’s DJ Mag Top 100 DJs Poll. Although, his Trance is much slower than most of what I listen to. I find his sound to be so complex and uplifting, yet sometimes find myself thinking that much if it sounds the same. I also like his remixes as a whole better than his original productions.

However, I would consider several of his songs to be among my favorite Trance songs of all-time. His original track “Save Me” holds a special place in my heart, while his remix of “Must Be Love” was the first new Trance song I heard in over a year that made me start checking out new music. My former co-worker Eric sent me the “Must Be Love (Shogun Remix)” and I was blown away after the first listen. That doesn’t happen very often to me with songs these days, and there was a long period of time where I would only listen to Trance from 2009-2011.

Like I said, I don’t know too much about the guy so I apologize for the lack of editorial included in this post. Nonetheless, his music is amazing and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do! The following songs are roughly in order of how much I like them. There are many more so follow me on Spotify!

  1. Shogun – Save Me [132 BPM]
  2. Arty, BT – Must Be Love (Shogun Remix) [130 BPM]
  3. Ferry Corsten – Live Forever (Shogun Remix) [130 BPM]
  4. Tritonal – Broken Down (Shogun Remix) [132 BPM]
  5. Nadia Ali – Ride With Me (Shogun Remix) [128 BPM]
  6. W&W – Nowhere To Go (Shogun Remix) [132 BPM]

Bonus uplifting remix of one of of my all-time favorite songs: Shogun – Save Me (Ilya Soloviev Remix) [138]

