I’ve been writing about a lot of Trance lately, so let me get back to my other genre of interest at the moment – Trap. I’ve been able to convert a fair amount of people into Trap fans already, but I know some of you are still skeptical.

I didn’t include this in my last post, but one of the wildest concert moments I’ve ever experienced was when Porter Robinson dropped “Satisfaction (RL Grime Remix)” on New Year’s this year. As I’ve said before, I was pretty behind on the Trap game so I had never heard this song before, but clearly no one else had either. I was kind of expecting the J.Rabbit Remix (so filthy) when I heard “Satisfaction” coming in, but what happened on the drop was unlike anything I’d ever seen at an EDM show. People were getting fucking down. Like BUCK (Sidenote: I love the song “Get Buck in Here” and heard it for the first time when the Jabbawockeez threw down on MTV at 2:33). It was wild and even stood out for me among so many other phenomenal “Satisfaction” remixes.

Also, HARD Summer is coming up in just under a month and I can’t wait! The lineup is insane and I don’t think HARD has ever put together a more highly anticipated event. Literally every Trap DJ you would want to see is playing, mixed in with some solid Electro. I also can’t wait to finally see French producer Gesaffelstein, but I don’t really know how to classify his music. It’s not Trap.

I don’t have much else to say, but the songs I included below are my second rendition of Trap songs you should know. They are definitely not regarded by the community as the best, but I dig them and find them to be pretty accessible for the casual EDM fan. They are all worth a listen and this will provide you a much larger pool of the Trap that is out there.

  1. RL Grime – Pockets
  2. Mr. Carmack – Pay (For What)
  3. Jay Z – Dirt Off Your Shoulder (Brillz & Z Trip Remix)
  4. Gents & Jawns – Turn Up
  5. Seven Lions – Days To Come (Slander, 7DS & Direwolfe Remix)
  6. Baauer – Slip
  7. Chief Keef – Love Sosa (RL Grime Remix)
  8. Tommy Trash – All My Friends (Oh Snap!! Remix)
  9. Knife Party – Internet Friends (heRobust’s Run Da Trap Bootleg)
  10. Deadmau5 – I Remember (Zubah’s Trap Edit)
  11. Yo Majesty – Club Action (Smookie Illson Boot)
  12. Showtek – F.T.S. (Say My Name Remix)
  13. Nicky Romero – Symphonica (BARE Remix)
