DashI received a lot of Internet love for my post about Myon & Shane 54 yesterday, so I decided to feature my second favorite DJ Dash Berlin in today’s “Featured Artist” post.

It’s hard to even begin writing about Dash Berlin because of his huge impact on my taste in music, as well as my life in general. Just to get this out of the way, Dash Berlin is a group of three producers, but I am still unclear about whether they all still make music or if it is just one guy. Maybe someone can comment below and fill me in.

Anyway, my love affair with Dash Berlin began after the first time I heard “Man On The Run.” I can’t remember where I was or when I heard it, but let me tell you, this is the PERFECT Trance song. It pretty much set the tone for my interest in Trance and I have been hooked ever since. “Man On The Run” is in contention for my favorite Trance song, which will eventually be decided in the post I have been waiting to write since I began blogging – my top 10 Trance songs of all-time. Also, you HAVE to listen to the nine minute version. You have to.

The thing that makes Dash the shit is that his music goes so hard at times, yet still pulls on your emotions with his beautiful breakdowns and angelic vocals. And there is no better case for this than “Man On The Run.” Other Trance producers implement a similar style, but Dash has his own unique, raw sound that I’ve never heard anyone replicate. Take for example any of his 4AM remixes. He takes incredibly beautiful songs in their own right and recreates them with his own darker spin. My favorite example of this is “Not Giving Up On Love (Dash Berlin 4AM Remix).” Now I’m not the biggest Armin fan, but you can tell that the original was seriously missing something. So what does Dash do? He comes in and crushes it!

Another thing that I want to add to this conversation is my progression of Dash Berlin listening. After I fell in love with “Man On The Run,” I eagerly pursued his entire library. At the time, his two most popular songs were “Waiting” and “Till The Sky Falls Down,” however I became strangely attracted to the lesser-known “Never Cry Again” and “The Night Time.” Anyone who went to college with me might remember me banging my head away at College Library while you were slaving away studying. If you do, there’s a good chance it was to one of those two songs because I was obsessed!

I’ve been fortunate enough to see Dash Berlin live twice. Once at EDC Vegas 2011 and then a few weeks ago at EDC again. The guy is a really goofy showman who brings out an iPad and types stuff like “Music is Life” or other cliché stuff. But I buy into his shtick and so do most of his crowds because that is what Trance is about. #TranceFamily is no joke and there’s really nothing more enjoyable to me than belting out the lyrics to a Dash Berlin classic surrounded by his other diehard fans. As you can imagine, I was incredibly disappointed when he had seven minutes left at sunrise two weeks ago and didn’t clothes with “Man On The Run.”

The following songs are roughly in order of which I like most. There are a lot of other good ones that I did not include in this post, so follow me on Spotify or look them up yourself.

  1. Dash Berlin, Jaren, Mitiska, Cerf – Man On The Run (135 BPM)
  2. Jaren, Mitiska, Cerf – You Never Said (Dash Berlin Remix) (132 BPM)
  3. Dash Berlin – Till The Sky Falls (Dash Berlin 4AM Mix) (135 BPM)
  4. Ferry Corsten – Not Coming Down (Dash Berlin 4AM Remix) (130 BPM)
  5. Armin Van Buuren – Not Giving Up On Love (Dash Berlin 4AM Mix) (135 BPM)
  6. Dash Berlin – Never Cry Again (135 BPM)
  7. Dash Berlin – The Night Time (128 BPM)
  8. Dash Berlin & ATB – Apollo Road (Club Version) (133 BPM)

Also, check out this SICK video mix Dash did:

