I am very excited to share this post with everyone because it includes the 20 songs I accredit for getting me into EDM, hence “Origins.” All but four of the tracks were found on Hype Machine and are in order of when I discovered them. I also no longer have any of these songs because my hard drive was stolen.

I first got into Tiesto my freshman year in college when a few friends of mine would play his In Search of Sunrise albums on repeat when we would hang out or get ready to go out. I could not stop listening to Magik 6: Live in Amsterdam. My favorites included “Voyage” and “Fratty Boy,” but no track stuck out as much as “Silence (Tiesto In Search Of Sunrise Remix).” I miss Tiesto as a Trance producer and this song spoke to me even when I had very limited knowledge of EDM.

The next big step in my EDM journey was the discovery of Hype Machine. I have featured this website on my blog before in the Where I Find Music section, but if you haven’t visited, you are missing out on one of the best websites on the Internet!

I found HypeM in March of my sophomore year and have never looked back.

Luckily, one of the first songs I found on HypeM was “Starry Eyed (Russ Chimes Remix),” which I still consider the best EDM track of 2010, even though “One” by Swedish House Mafia takes that title by a landslide.

Around this time, Deadmau5 was just blowing up on the web and I began to encounter hits I had heard the previous summer during his 2009 set at Lollapalooza, including “Strobe.” I decided to look deeper and LOVED nearly every Deadmau5 song I unveiled on HypeM. For a while, his remixes of “You And I” and “The Longest Road” were the only songs I would listen to on repeat.

HypeM also exposed me to Dubstep, which I had not heard previously. I am sure the genre had been around for a while, but it really grew in popularity with the emergence of Skrillex and Rusko all over the web.

I continued to visit HypeM daily for the next five months or so, consuming all the most favorited EDM, hip-hop and indie music on its popular feed. And then I discovered “Salt Skin (Alex Metric Remix).” This song encouraged me to look deeper into Alex Metric, which led me to his August 2010 mix on his Soundcloud page. It’s a pretty incredible mix that blends Nu Disco with some of the best House out there at the time. The mix showed me there was a whole world of EDM beyond Deadmau5 and what is popular on Hype Machine.

The final step in my EDM journey is a DJ who goes by one name – Afrojack. “Take Over Control” was released during the same month as the Alex Metric mix, but this was different. I absolutely loved Afrojack’s Dutch House sound that was unlike anything else I had heard before. So, of course I listened to every single song of his on HypeM and was immediately hooked.

From there, I investigated other DJs who I had seen pop up on HypeM regularly and sought out a list of the Top DJs in the world.

The rest is history…

  1. Silence (Tiesto In Search Of Sunrise Remix) – Delerium [Trance]
  2. Starry Eyed (Russ Chimes Remix) – Ellie Goulding [Indie Dance/Nu Disco]
  3. Shine On (Heiko & Maiko Gute Laune Mix) – Sunloverz [Progressive House]
  4. Get Shaky (Ian Carey Vocal Mix) – The Ian Carey Project [House]
  5. I’m Not Alone (Deadmau5 Mix) – Calvin Harris [Progressive House]
  6. You And I (Deadmau5 Remix) – Medina [Progressive House]
  7. The Longest Road (Deadmau5 Remix) – Morgan Page [Progressive House]
  8. Hold On (Sub Focus Remix) – Rusko [Dubstep]
  9. Faxing Berlin (Grifta Dubstep Remix) – Deadmau5 [Dubstep]
  10. Phantom II (Boys Noize Unreleased Turbine Remix) – Justice [Electronica]
  11. Swoon (Boys Noize Summer Mix) – Chemical Brothers [Electronica]
  12. Spaceship (Pance Party Remix) – Benny Benassi [Electro House]
  13. Mornin’ After Dark (Wolfgang Gartner Remix) – Timbaland [Electro House]
  14. Falling In Love With Brazil (Kaskade Mashup) – Haley vs Deadmau5 [Progressive House]
  15. Heartbreak (Bare Noize Remix) – M’Black [Dubstep]
  16. Heads Will Roll (A-Trak Remix) – Yeah Yeah Yeahs [Indie Dance/Nu Disco]
  17. Salt Skin (Alex Metric Remix) – Ellie Goulding [Indie Dance/Nu Disco]
  18. Rainbow Trout – Joe And Will Ask [Progressive House]
  19. Dance The Way I Feel (Armand Van Helden Club Mix) – Ou Est Le Swimming Pool [House]
  20. Take Over Control (Extended Mix) – Afrojack [Electro House]
