Last night marked the third time I have seen Avicii in concert (now more than anyone else), and again he did not disappoint. Avicii may not have played a lot of my favorite tracks, but nonetheless he killed it. One problem with Avicii’s sets that differ from a set I would play, for instance, is that there aren’t enough bangers. “Levels” and “Jump Around” might have been the only moments of his set that the whole crowd was jumping. Maybe because it was not a regular EDM crowd, but in my opinion, Avicii doesn’t play enough Electro House. However, you get what you pay for when you buy into high tones (inside joke).

Avicii is also a much improved DJ, despite using fader effects to get out of almost every other song.

I have to give props to the Orpheum for putting on a sick show however. I was very impressed with their sound system despite the opening DJs being way too quiet. The light show was quite underwhelming, but that was made up for by my first experience with smoke cannons (only the second coolest addition to lights as FIRE).

Although, I have to say Avicii at Segredo last year was more fun than this show because of its intimate confines, and the overload of massive DJs coming through Madison this year. Yesterday was still my favorite DJ set I have seen this school year.

I can’t believe people had to pay between $45-$60 to see Avicii with two local openers! Hey Von (one of the openers), if you are reading this, you’re music is terrible and I have no comment on your skills as a DJ because I was not paying attention.

It was half the price last year.

Avicii played about four or five songs that I didn’t know, including two in-a-row towards the end of his set prior to the encore. One of which did not seem mastered yet though because the bass was so weak on the drop.

I’m having a little trouble recalling what tracks he played by other DJs, but highlights for me were “Calling” and “Dangerous (Deniz Koyu & Johan Wedel Remix).” Somebody played “Hydra”  and “You’ve Got The Love (Mark Knight Remix),” but I don’t remember if it was Avicii or not. The latter might have been a mash-up with “Fade Into Darkness.”

I’d love to hear what other people thought. I know it was many people’s first time at an EDM concert, but please, please don’t call last night a rave. Not even close.

Final thought: Avicii @ The Orpheum was a great way to spend a Tuesday night during syllabus week.

(I’ve never done one of these so give me a break)

