For my return post to this blog, I would like to write about an EDM genre that has just recently found its way into my music library and into my heart. That genre is Trap.

I remember the first time I heard of Trap (sometime in early spring of 2012), my friend Brian played “Original Don (Flosstradamus Remix)” in his apartment. The song was unlike anything I had heard before and I thought it was so dirty. Having never heard of the genre, I went home and tried looking it up on Google and Urban Dictionary. However, Trap was such a new genre that there was no existing definitions on either site.

A considerable amount of time passed before I heard about the genre again in the winter. I was pretty late to the Trap game, which can mostly be attributed to me only listening to the Trance on my phone for the entire summer. But I digress…

For those of you that don’t know, Slander is a DJ group comprised of my friends Scott and Derek (they are dope and you need to check them out RIGHT NOW). They have had a HUGE influence on my taste in music over the years and I accredit them with turning me onto Trance, as well as my favorite song of all-time – “Rebound”. Anyway, Slander used to DJ mostly Trance and for whatever reason decided to make the switch to exclusively Trap over the summer. Naturally, this move intrigued me so I had to give it a listen.

Scott sent me a bunch of songs and none struck me more than “Spaceman (Carnage Festival Trap Remix)”. I regard the original “Spaceman” as the best EDM song of 2012 by a long shot, yet Carnage’s remix still finds a way to make it sound even grimier. I then decided to attend a Slander show in the fall where they played to maybe 50 people in Orange County. I remember the set starting off pretty slow and I remained skeptical until about 15 minutes in when they played “F.T.S. (Say My Name Remix)”. The drop at 2:43 is still my favorite Trap drop to this day and the crowd went wild when it played.

After that show, I still didn’t take the time to really explore the genre, but decided to attend two more Slander shows within the month. Trap was really catching my ear and there is no dance move in the EDM space more fun than the Trap dance. I couldn’t find a great video, but it’s all shoulders and elbows. It’s awesome. I then attended Coachella with Slander and all of my Trap-loving friends, and have been hooked ever since. Also, seeing Baauer live is one of the most fun shows I’ve ever seen. Go see him!

***Now I have to make a disclaimer about Trap. The genre pretty much sucks on the whole. There are not nearly enough quality tracks out there and only about five or six solid producers in the genre in my opinion. That being said, it’s still fairly new and when a Trap song’s good, it bangs. If you are looking for specific producers, I suggest checking out Baauer, RL Grime and Flosstradamus to start.

The purpose of this post is to serve as an “introduction to Trap” for those of you who don’t know the genre very well. I’m not saying the songs below are the best the genre has to offer, but I think it is a great starting point to show its diversity.

Also, I use my Soundcloud exclusively for Trap and repost any song I think is worth a listen. So follow me and see what else you might like.

As always, I appreciate your feedback and let me know what you think about Trap!

  1. Hardwell – Spaceman (Carnage Festival Trap Remix)
  2. Calvin Harris – Sweet Nothing (Diplo & Grandtheft Mix)
  3. Benny Benassi – Satisfaction (RL Grime Remix)
  4. Justin Timberlake – Suit & Tie (Dillon Francis Remix)
  5. Flosstradamus – Rollup (Baauer Remix)
  6. TNGHT – Goooo
  7. Major Lazer – Original Don (Flosstradamus Remix)

Bonus “baby making” Trap: Usher – Climax (Flosstradmus & Diplo Remix)

